Just another weblog

Spiritual Food


     How do you stay spiritually fed? Unfortunately in many churches, spiritual growth does not happen, so it falls on you to do one of two things. Find a new church or find food yourself. I have been in churches that kept me fed and that can make you lazy, I have been in churches in which you will starve unless you feed yourself. Which is better? Well neither. We don’t have to settle for either or. I want a church that teaches me “How to fish” so to speak.

     So this week, I would like to share with you not the be all end all answers, but one of the authors that supplement the Word of God. This author has spoken into my life and inspired me with every page I turn.

     Maybe you are not a big reader, but if you find yourself wanting another way to grow your faith in Christ, consider picking up some of these authors. Here is one of my most favorites!

MAX LUCADO– Is an amazing author and pastor at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio Texas. Max has many titles over his prolific career and has a way of engaging he reader. It seems he wrote it with you in mind. If you would like to read some sample chapters, you can do a couple things. You can go to a site such as Amazon or Barnes and Nobles and look up his name and many books will offer a sample chapter to read. Another option is to go to and click “READ” toward the top of the screen, and you will be taken to a listing of some of his most recent books.

Although this list is long, it is only a partial list.

  • 1983 On the Anvil (Shaped by God)
  • 1986 No Wonder They Call Him the Savior
  • 1987 God Came Near
  • 1989 Six Hours One Friday
  • 1990 The Applause of Heaven
  • 1991 In the Eye of the Storm
  • 1992 Just In Case You Ever Wonder
  • 1992 And the Angels Were Silent
  • 1993 He Still Moves Stones
  • 1993 Tell Me the Secrets
  • 1994 When God Whispers Your Name
  • 1994 The Final Week of Jesus
  • 1995 A Gentle Thunder
  • 1996 In the Grip of Grace
  • 1996 The Glory of Christmas
  • 1996 Walking with the Savior
  • 1997 The Great House of God
  • 1998 The Cross
  • 1998 Just Like Jesus
  • 1998 The Christmas Cross
  • 1998 Let the Journey Begin
  • 1999 When Christ Comes
  • 1999 The Gift for All People
  • 1999 Opening Windows
  • 1999 Because I Love You
  • 2000 Grace for the Moment
  • 2000 In the Footsteps of Jesus
  • 2000 He Did This Just For You
  • 2001 Traveling Light
  • 2001 America Looks Up
  • 2001 One Incredible Moment
  • 2001 Safe in the Shepherd’s Arms
  • 2002 Just For You
  • 2002 A Love Worth Giving
  • 2002 A Heart Like Jesus
  • 2002 What the Cross Means to Me
  • 2003 Next Door Savior
  • 2003 Experiencing the Heart of Jesus
  • 2003 God Thinks You’re Wonderful
  • 2004 It’s Not About Me
  • 2004 Come Thirsty
  • 2004 Everyday Blessings
  • 2005 Cure for the Common Life
  • 2005 Turn
  • 2005 God’s Mirror
  • 2006 Your Special Gift
  • 2006 Grace For The Moment II
  • 2006 Facing Your Giants
  • 2007 Every Day Deserves a Chance: Wake Up to the Gift of 24 Hours
  • 2007 3:16: The Numbers of Hope
  • 2008 Cast Of Characters (to be released October 2, 2008)
  • I hope that you will pick up one of these titles and let Max point you to God in a personal way.

    Keep the Faith and Give it Away!


    Single Post Navigation

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: