BOUNDLESS BLOG

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Top Ten Objections to Atheism???

Okay this list is a bit tongue in cheek but I hear these objections to Christianity all the time and wondered what they would look like if I just switched out Christianity for Atheism.  Yes it is a bit absurd, but that is the point, you could make many of these arguments about many groups. Well here you go,…

1. Atheists are Hypocrites

2. What about all the atrocities that atheists have committed?

3. Atheism is a crutch.

4. It’s narrow-minded to think that Atheism is the only way.

5. Where is Atheism when bad things happen?

6. Atheism is intolerant and judgemental.

7. The Origin of Species is full of errors.

8. If Atheism is so good, why is there evil?

9. Being a good person is all that really matters.

10. Atheists think that they are better than non atheists.

Okay but seriously what do you think are serious objections to Christianity? Can you give me your reasons?

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Objections to Atheism???

  1. As a Christian I usually challenge other Christians on their beliefs of Genesis. “Do you believe in a literal 7 days of creation? Why/Why not?”
    Unfortunately I find many do not have a firm foundation from which to make their stand. Sure, they are quick to quote the sayings of Jesus or Paul, but that merely leads to the simple question of “Why do I need salvation?”
    Without Genesis and the fall of man there is no need for salvation. Without a firm foundation belief that Genesis is the true factual account of the first actual 7 days the rest of the book can be questioned.
    People, be of a Berean mind.

    • kealnt on said:

      I agree Mark I think that today even many Christians want to pick and choose what they want to believe about what God has taught us. Now I understand that not everything is black and white, however there are so many things that God has not given us wiggle room on. When we start to do so, we are on a slippery slope. I think that Christian ignorance and arrogance (failing to know what or why we believe) is why we are such a poor witness at times to those who are critical, inquisitive or skeptical of the Christian faith. Christianity stands or falls in one person and one event. The one person is obviously Jesus and the one event is the Resurrection. Jesus is historical as is the resurrection. So until somone else proves to be God I think I will listen to Jesus of Nazareth. trusting in his words and teaching, based not on simple emotion but rather on the evidence and reason.

  2. “Okay but seriously what do you think are serious objections to Christianity?”

    The lack of evidence for its supernatural claims.

    • kealnt on said:

      I know that this is a tough one, not because it is inplausable, but because it is not something that we can test in a labratory. Supernatural events and miracles if you are hinting at such acts that God performed inthe Old Testament directly or through his Prophets, servants, Priests or Judges are so foreign to us today. Also there were many in the New Testament that were performed not only by Jesus himself, but also by the Disciples, Paul and a few others.
      In defencs of the Supernatural:

      (1) TERMS: I think that when a non believer hears Supernatural, they “may” hear impossible or even magic. I dont belive that is the case. It is still a natural event, it is simply a Supra (Which simply means above, outside, higher up, beyond or the like) or Super-Natural which is what it has been morphed into.

      (2) MEASUREMENTS: Just because we can’t prove something beyond a shadow of a doubt does not mean it is not enough to put our faith in. For example, we cannot go back and scientifically see if anything historically ever actually took place. We can’t recreate in a lab the excact conditions to observe the forming of the Grand Canyon, but its there. Science can’t tell me the chemical composition of love. How much does courage weigh? What is the mass of depression? Can anyone tell me length of thankfulness? I don’t know? But I do know that these things are real even if they cannot be proven to me scientifically. Just because something can not be placed in a test tube and explained by science does not mean that it is not true, vaild, real or possible.

      (3) BURDEN OF PROOF: Inversely to play Hot Potato, can anyone prove that the Supernatural does not exist? Has anyone seen it all? Been everywhere within and without our Universe to be able to say that there is truly no God or supernatural diety who intervenes in the lives of “mere mortals”? The burden of proof is not all on the Christian,.. but “I” did ask so your off the hook. My point is that is when someone tosses out an arguement, I like to ask how it is they have come to that view point, how do you know? Just because they dont happen today, doesnt mean that they never did happen or that they never may again. Come on,.. if something occured all the time with commonality would we even call it supernatural? No it would be relgated to natural.

      (4) ENOUGH: If miracles and the supernatural were tossed about like a free lunch then there would be no need for the one key ingredient that is vitally important to God. FAITH! If God made it too obvious that he was there,… we would choose him out of obligation. If he gave us too little we would be right to ignore him. However he has given us just enough to choose him freely of our own accord. Its just enough to be coercive.

      (5) RISEN: Finally, this is a very important objection you brought up. If you and others are unsure that it is indeed possible that God can interact with his creation, if indeed you believe in a God, then you have no use for the Bible, or have any way to make use of the greatest supernatural event in history. The Resurrection. I will be posting evidence for this in the weeks to come.

      I know that I have not found the answer that will end the worlds questions of faith,.. but I would say to anyone athiest, agnostic, skeptic, what if you are wrong? Is it worth looking into deeper or is it worth being open to the possibility that Darwin got it wrong? Is there a reason we dont want there to be a God? Is there a reson we want evolution to be true? That irreducible complexity is an issue, that there are limitations to what science can tell us, although I think science is an ally of Christianity in every way. Life itself, the fact that there is something rather than nothing is a miracle.
      Thanks for your response!

      • “I think that when a non believer hears Supernatural, they “may” hear impossible or even magic”

        What it is called matters very little to me. My question is, is there evidence for it? And good, unequivocal evidence? The answer, at least thus far, is no.

        “Just because we can’t prove something beyond a shadow of a doubt does not mean it is not enough to put our faith in.”

        Well, firstly, I don’t put my faith in anything. I find I, personally, have no use for faith.

        That being said, skeptics like myself are not asking for proof ‘beyond a shadow of a doubt’. We’re asking for good, objective as we can get evidence. And we haven’t been provided with that.

        “Just because something can not be placed in a test tube and explained by science does not mean that it is not true, vaild, real or possible.”

        If you argument is that the supernatural is as real as emotions, then I agree. In that they are human responses to chemical reactions in their brains.

        “Inversely to play Hot Potato, can anyone prove that the Supernatural does not exist?”

        No more than you can prove that my pet invisible dragon doesn’t exist. Which is why the burden of proof is on me, the person who claims he does exist.

        “if something occured all the time with commonality would we even call it supernatural? No it would be relgated to natural.”

        Perhaps. But, even if we called it natural, I would then believe your claims. Is that a bad thing?

        “Has anyone seen it all?”

        Nope. What we have seen, however, has given no indication of the supernatural existing. It still might exist, in the same way my dragon might, or leprechauns might. But until or unless we get evidence that those things do exist, believing they do is irrational.

        “If God made it too obvious that he was there,… we would choose him out of obligation.”

        I disagree.

        If your deity is real and provided evidence, I would then believe that he existed. But believing he existed is not the same thing as worshiping or loving him, or thinking he’s a good being. That would depend on that being’s character.

        As it is, without evidence of his existence, I don’t particularly care if it’s a good god or a bad one. If it doesn’t exist, why does it matter?

        “what if you are wrong?”

        Is that the question you actually want to ask? I don’t think it is.

        I think the question you actually want to ask is “what if I’m right”. Well, if you’re right (and depending on your specific beliefs, but guessing) I’ll probably burn in hell for all eternity.

        But if I’m wrong, that doesn’t mean you’re correct. It just means I’m wrong, and any number of possible things could be correct. I could be reincarnated, get my own Mormon planet, become a servant of Lord Xenu, burn in Muslim hell with you by my side, or hang out with a god who really doesn’t care if you believe or not as long as you’re not a jerk.

        But I don’t think that’s what you were asking.

  3. kealnt on said:

    With us adding posts this way it may get confusing,.. sorry, what I have done is repost your last post then my reply.
    “”My original will be in DOUBLE QUOTES””
    –Yours is in the middle so you should recognize it!
    New

    ““I think that when a non believer hears Supernatural, they “may” hear impossible or even magic”
    –What it is called matters very little to me. My question is, is there evidence for it? And good, unequivocal evidence? The answer, at least thus far, is no.

    New-Is there evidence against it? Again Burden of proof? Why rule it out just because we dont see it day in day out?””

    ““Just because we can’t prove something beyond a shadow of a doubt does not mean it is not enough to put our faith in.””
    –Well, firstly, I don’t put my faith in anything. I find I, personally, have no use for faith.
    New- You have faith in science I would guess, faith in your family possibly, faith that when you plop on your couch to watch your favorite show, you wont fall to the floor. We all have faith, its what we put it in that matters.

    –That being said, skeptics like myself are not asking for proof ‘beyond a shadow of a doubt’. We’re asking for good, objective as we can get evidence. And we haven’t been provided with that.

    New–What would evidence look like to you? What have you read? Are you an athiest, agnostic? Are you looking? Just wondering what your definition of “objective as we can get”.. because many of the sciences past breakthoughs supporting atheism were flawed. Either unitentionally or purposly misleading as the Haeckel’s embryonical drawings, the Urey Miller experiment, Java man (a leg bone, a skull cap and a partial jaw fragement and they got a whole “man”,.. tell me scientists dont operatate out of faith too!). I am still learning more, you may have other information I may not be aware of. Honestly, even Christian dont agree on smoe things for example how old the earth is.

    “”Inversely to play Hot Potato, can anyone prove that the Supernatural does not exist?””
    –No more than you can prove that my pet invisible dragon doesn’t exist. Which is why the burden of proof is on me, the person who claims he does exist.
    New- Nope, whats his name? Hope he is cuter than your water bear was it.

    “”Has anyone seen it all?””
    –Nope. What we have seen, however, has given no indication of the supernatural existing. It still might exist, in the same way my dragon might, or leprechauns might. But until or unless we get evidence that those things do exist, believing they do is irrational.
    New- Again, what do you consider evidence?

    ““If God made it too obvious that he was there,… we would choose him out of obligation.””
    –I disagree.
    New–Thats cool, my point however is that God operates out of faith and faith alone, if he provides absolute proof, there is no room faith. God wants an element of trust to be part of the equation.
    –If your deity is real and provided evidence, I would then believe that he existed. But believing he existed is not the same thing as worshiping or loving him, or thinking he’s a good being. That would depend on that being’s character.
    As it is, without evidence of his existence, I don’t particularly care if it’s a good god or a bad one. If it doesn’t exist, why does it matter?
    –Again I would be interested to know what would make you do a double take in regards to evidence?

    “”what if you are wrong?””
    –Is that the question you actually want to ask? I don’t think it is.
    New- Um nope,.. that is what I am asking,… the reason is due to the fact that Christianity, much like nearly every belief system is exclusive. We cannot both be right. Either you are or I am. There will not be 100% PROOF till one of us dies, but I thouroughly disagree that there is no evidence.
    –I think the question you actually want to ask is “what if I’m right”. Well, if you’re right (and depending on your specific beliefs, but guessing) I’ll probably burn in hell for all eternity.
    –But if I’m wrong, that doesn’t mean you’re correct. It just means I’m wrong, and any number of possible things could be correct. I could be reincarnated, get my own Mormon planet, become a servant of Lord Xenu, burn in Muslim hell with you by my side, or hang out with a god who really doesn’t care if you believe or not as long as you’re not a jerk.
    New- If you are right than yes your options could be right simply becuase of my arguement that all belief systems cannot be right. Maybe I will just cease to exist, no harm no foul, but If the BIble is right, if Jesus who claims to have already died and come back to tell us about it is right (although you likely dont buy that at all) then yes everyone else who doesnt believe for whatever reason is in trouble. Although I don’t think that other religions have the evidence Christianity has, but I digress. If I am right, then yes you would be in trouble because that is what the Bible teaches.

    Yeah we could hang out, but Muslim Hell is not my first choice!

    –But I don’t think that’s what you were asking.

    In case you still dont think that is what I was asking, let me ask you this? What do you think happend to the body of Jesus? The tomb was empty…. why? Here is where it all comes together or falls apart,… Use science, history, archeology, whatever but no one can come up with what happened to Jesus. Other than the Millions upon Millions of Christians, but of course any non believer thinking logicaly would say that does not mean anything and they would be right in a sense.

    12 Now, let me ask you something profound yet troubling. If you became believers because you trusted the proclamation that Christ is alive, risen from the dead, how can you let people say that there is no such thing as a resurrection? 13 If there’s no resurrection, there’s no living Christ. 14 And face it—if there’s no resurrection for Christ, everything we’ve told you is smoke and mirrors, and everything you’ve staked your life on is smoke and mirrors. 15 Not only that, but we would be guilty of telling a string of barefaced lies about God, all these affidavits we passed on to you verifying that God raised up Christ—sheer fabrications, if there’s no resurrection.
    16 If corpses can’t be raised, then Christ wasn’t, because he was indeed dead. 17 And if Christ wasn’t raised, then all you’re doing is wandering about in the dark, as lost as ever. 18 It’s even worse for those who died hoping in Christ and resurrection, because they’re already in their graves. 19 If all we get out of Christ is a little inspiration for a few short years, we’re a pretty sorry lot. 20 But the truth is that Christ has been raised up, the first in a long legacy of those who are going to leave the cemeteries. – Apostle PAUL 1 Corinthians 15:12-20 (MSG)

    I am glad that you are a thinker,… I have a lot to learn. I can honeslty say that I am not afraid to see what science may bring, as I have said it is an ally to faith. I doubt I have convinced you of anything, but it would be great to see you conisder the possibilities. I will have to post some books and reseources in the future in an organized fashion, but for now here a few to consider when you have sometime….

    Check out:

    Books: Lee Strobel, Ravi Zacharias, Peter Hitchens and Norman Geisler

    Websites: Stand to Reason- http://www.str.org/site/PageServer, Please Convince me.com- http://www.pleaseconvinceme.com/, Institution for Creation research-http://www.icr.org/,Lee Strobel- Lee Strobel.com, Lane Craig- http://www.reasonablefaith.org/site/PageServer

    Thanks for making me think! If you have any suggestion for me I will check them out as well. Thanks- Kenn

    • And now, be prepared for a super long response! Wooo!

      “New-Is there evidence against it? Again Burden of proof? Why rule it out just because we dont see it day in day out?”

      That’s not the way the burden of proof work. We don’t look for evidence against things, we look for evidence for things. If all we did was the former, we’d believe everything.

      “You have faith in science I would guess, faith in your family possibly, faith that when you plop on your couch to watch your favorite show, you wont fall to the floor. We all have faith, its what we put it in that matters.”

      Incorrect. I have no faith in anything. I have trust based on evidence and experience. Which seems to me to be the exact opposite of faith.

      “What would evidence look like to you?”

      Something not unlike a miracle in the Bible that is observable by many people, recordable and able to be investigated.

      “Are you an athiest, agnostic?

      I am an agnostic atheist skeptic.

      And no, those terms aren’t mutually exclusive.

      “Honestly, even Christian dont agree on smoe things for example how old the earth is.”

      Check the geology. It’s in the billions of years old.

      “my point however is that God operates out of faith and faith alone,”

      And my point is that’s a very bad idea for getting people to believe in the truth.

      “Although I don’t think that other religions have the evidence Christianity has”

      As far as I can tell, all religions have roughly the equivalent level of evidence. And that level is not high. Which is why I’m not convinced by any of it.

      What it all comes down to is that anecdotes, whether written or spoken, are not good enough evidence to confirm a supernatural event. So a Jesus-like character may very well have existed. But the scriptures, which weren’t even written while he was supposed to have been alive, aren’t good enough evidence for his miracles.

  4. kealnt on said:

    I wont ask you to go back and forth I am sure you have lots of other things to do, but I noticed you didnt address some of the bigger things. It would be interesting to see how YOU define an atheist and agnostic?

    Atheist–noun
    a person who denies or disbelieves the existence of a supreme being or beings.

    Agnostic–noun
    a person who holds that the existence of the ultimate cause, as god, and the essential nature of things are unknown and unknowable, or that human knowledge is limited to experience.

    When I talk about burden of Proof my point is that we all need to be able to back up what we say not Christians alone. Too often Christians and non Christian throw statements out there and dont back it up or back it up with outdated, flawed or even faked “science”. You didn’t comment on any of that and that is okay, maybe you chose not too, maybe you didn’t feel the need too? I don’t know. Its cool.

    Faith and Trust are not mutually exclusive.

    I find it very funny how much time atheists spend talking about something they dont even believe is there. Case in point.

    CARBON DATING
    (Im not a science guy so this is not mine at all I looked it up. Point is we dont have a agreement on validity. Lets not do what they have done with Evolution. Called a THEORY a FACT.)

    A few examples of wild dates by radiometric dating:
    •Shells from living snails were carbon dated as being 27,000 years old. –Science vol. 224, 1984, pp. 58-61
    •Living mollusk shells were dated up to 2,300 years old.– Science vol. 141, 1963, pp. 634-637
    •A freshly killed seal was carbon dated as having died 1,300 years ago.– Antarctic Journal vol. 6, Sept-Oct. 1971, p. 211
    •“One part of the Vollosovitch mammoth carbon dated at 29,500 years and another part at 44,000.”— Troy L. Pewe, “Quaternary Strigraphic Nomencature in Uniglaciated Central Alaska,” Geologic Survey Professional Paper 862 (U.S. Gov. Printing Office, 1975) p. 30
    •“Structure, metamorphism, sedimentary reworking, and other complications have to be considered. Radiometric dating would not have been feasible if the geologic column had not been erected first.”—J. E. O’Rourke, “Pragmatism vs. Material- ism in Stratigraphy,” American Journal of Science, vol. 276 (January,1976), p. 547
    •Material from layers where dinosaurs are found carbon dated at 34,000 years old.—Reginald Daly, Earth’s Most Challenging Mysteries, 1972, p. 280

    A person made a statement that God is obligated to heal people, cancer patients, amputees, etc. My reply is that God is bigger than we are and his is not obligated to do anything. The fact that he has even given us life is amazing. We have no room to demand anything. Anything he gives us is a gift. When he does give us things we should be extremely greatful but often we take them for granted. The atheist said I was brainwashed, and argued that God did owe us something. An atheist arguing the fact that God owed people healing?! An ATHEIST arguing that a NON EXISTENT GOD owed us someting?

    “My point however is that God operates out of faith and faith alone,”
    “And my point is that’s a very bad idea for getting people to believe in the truth.”
    Why? Why is that the case. Im not a science guy but isnt that what science does? You have a theory, you have an idea, faith or trust that one thing corelates to another to produce an expected outcome, so you test it for what, to see “Is my theory true?” You always learn something in any experiment whether succsesul or not right. You are one step closer to the truth. So why is faith such a bad idea and starting point? The point of faith is that people believed BEFORE the recieved. Again, science follows what The Bible has already laid out.

    I am also not sure why you left Jesus “In the tomb” so to speak by not addressing the Resurrection at all, maybe you just did care to but once again, if he was who he said he was, and he did come back from the dead, and he is God, and he will judge us all one day,… all of our excuses will mean nothing. All our smart arguements and scientific theories will mean absolutely nothing. We dont have to know it all to trust in him. It could be called a prepondarnce of evidence I believe is the legal term. It doesnt matter if miracles will every happen before our very eyes, or if our every prayer is answered or ife we understand the Bible completely, or find every civilization noted in the Bible verified by archeology all that matters is if he actually rose from the dead. All he will want to know is if we put our faith (or trust) in him.

    It has been great talking to you. I hope you will consider some of this. Maybe you are not looking for truth? Maybe you are. I may never know… Well Ill have to keep checking out your blog! Mine is mostly for me. You have made me work and think for that I thank you! I respect your oponions and if it were possible would grab a drink at a Taco Bell or something. I appreciate your perspectives and its really good for me. If you do have any articles you think I might be interested in let me know. Thanks again

    • “but I noticed you didnt address some of the bigger things.”

      Probably because of the length. But that’s as much my fault as it is yours.

      “It would be interesting to see how YOU define an atheist and agnostic?”

      You’ll note that in your definitions, atheism is about belief and agnosticism is about knowledge. Which are two different things.

      I do not believe a god or gods exist. And thus, I’m an atheist. I also don’t know, for a fact, if some sort of god exists out there. So I’m an agnostic.

      Making me an agnostic atheist. Make sense?

      “When I talk about burden of Proof my point is that we all need to be able to back up what we say not Christians alone.”

      You might be using the term incorrectly then.

      The burden of proof means, essentially, that it is the responsibility of the person making a claim to supply evidence to back that claim up.

      You claim, for example, that a god exists. I don’t believe your claim. Thus, the burden of proof is on you to provide evidence for your claim. See?

      “I find it very funny how much time atheists spend talking about something they dont even believe is there.”

      Because conversations are interesting. And I’m interested in learning more about people and what they believe, and how that makes them tick.

      “Lets not do what they have done with Evolution. Called a THEORY a FACT.”

      Do you know what the word ‘theory’ means, scientifically? You do know that gravity is a theory, correct?

      “I am also not sure why you left Jesus “In the tomb” so to speak by not addressing the Resurrection at all”

      Because as far as I know, there may not have been a Jesus, let alone a tomb.

      As I said, an anecdote isn’t good enough evidence for a supernatural claim. That’s the reason I don’t believe people who claim to be abducted by aliens, and why I don’t believe that if Jesus existed he did anything supernatural.

      • kealnt on said:

        My fault? Do we need to be like that? I thought this was friendly?
        Burden of proof works both ways, can you prove my God does not exist?
        A theory is a theory because we cant explain it yet we accept it,… sounds like faith?
        If you dont know if there was a Jesus or a tomb you dont know your history! His historicity was attested to extrabiblicaly and carbon dating didnt mess that up.

  5. “My fault? Do we need to be like that? I thought this was friendly?”

    That comment about ‘fault’ was in jest. It was meant to refer to the fact that the both of us wrote quite long posts.

    “Burden of proof works both ways, can you prove my God does not exist?”

    No, it doesn’t work both ways. If it did, you’d be a Christian and a Muslim and a Jew and a Pagan and a Satanist…etc.

    “A theory is a theory because we cant explain it yet we accept it”

    Incorrect. A theory is the highest level of knowledge for things scientific. It is an explanation based on all available empirical data. Which is why gravity is a theory.

    “His historicity was attested to extrabiblicaly”

    Sorry, but you’re wrong.

    There was no writing about him from the time he was supposed to have existed. Everything written extrabiblically was done decades later and almost completely about his followers and what they believed and preached, not the character of Jesus.

    • kealnt on said:

      lol we cant do this forever,…
      So only those who have a faith are responsible to provide evidence for what they believe? If an atheist makes a statment they have no obligation to support them?

      “Incorrect. A theory is the highest level of knowledge for things scientific. It is an explanation based on all available empirical data. Which is why gravity is a theory.”

      You are right, science can only go so far in our knowledge, that is what I have said previously. Science is great but woefully limited.

      Sorry but I am wrong, no you are there were many within his life time much to soon to let legend or myth to form who wrote about him (many non believers in fact).They reference Christ adding further support to the historicity, life and events of Christ. Josephus, Tacitus, Suetonius, Juilius Africanus, Origen, Pliny the Younger, Thallus, Lucian. If you can’t believe Christ existed you can’t believe in much!

      I look for a post, if you post in a day or so,… LOL

      • “no you are there were many within his life time”

        You believe that Jesus died around 33 AD, correct?

        Josephus wasn’t born until 37 AD.

        Tacitus wasn’t born until 56 AD.

        Suetonius wasn’t born until 70 AD.

        Julius Africanus wasn’t born until 160 AD.

        Origen wasn’t born until 184 AD.

        Pliny wasn’t born until 61 AD.

        Thallus didn’t write anything until 55 AD.

        Lucian wasn’t born until 125 AD.

        If any of that is good enough for you, then I ask, in all seriousness, why you don’t believe that people have been abducted by aliens. Because they have more evidence than any of the scholars listed above.

  6. kealnt on said:

    “They reference Christ adding further support to the historicity, life and events of Christ. Josephus, Tacitus, Suetonius, Juilius Africanus, Origen, Pliny the Younger, Thallus, Lucian. If you can’t believe Christ existed you can’t believe in much!”

    You are right, I must not have been clear. my point is that there are many who wrote about Christ, as a historical person. Many wrote within a generation of his life, and yes because he is the most amazing person in history, they have never ever stopped.

  7. Pingback: Christian Intolerance for Atheists | Philosopher's Haze

  8. Pingback: The first few weeks of Atheism « Confessions Of A YEC

Leave a Reply

