BOUNDLESS BLOG

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Questions to Ask Momons Pt 1: What is the Origin of the Book of Mormon?

Joe Should have been reading Galatians 1:8 right about now!

As a the story goes, Joe Smith was a young boy searching for truth, but alas there were so many religions that he didn’t know which one was true,so he prayed asking God to tell him which church he should join. In one of about either 9 or 11 versions depending on who you talk to in Mormon circle, an angel named Moroni told Joseph that none were correct and he should join none of them.

There are variations to the story Joseph shared in regards to who appeared and their identity. However if Joseph was looking for truth in the Methodist faith, he should have had access to a Bible at some point. Joseph was eventually given Gold Plates that were a History of the people of those who lived in the Americas. Mormon Chapter 8:2-9

For a better History on this check out the videos DNA vs the Book of Mor mon and The Bible Vs The Book of Mormon.

After all, 16 Every part of Scripture is God-breathed and useful one way or another—showing us truth, exposing our rebellion, correcting our mistakes, training us to live God’s way. 2 Timothy 3:16 (MSG)

If Joseph was looking for truth, this would have been a great place to start. There is one passage that stops Mormonism in its tracks and even if some would say that Joseph Smith didn’t know the Bible, which I would agree, there is no reasonable excuse for those seeking truth to miss this today. Bibles are easy to get today and although Joe could have used the reasoning that he did not have a copy to refer to, we cannot.

Here it is in three different versions,… the King James which the Mormons do use, the New Living Translation which is a modern translation and the Message, which in not a translation but a paraphrase. You will notice that they go from a more literal to what is called “Dynamic Equivalence” and paraphrase to make the reading a but more understandable.
8 But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. As we said before, so say I now again, If any manpreach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed. Galatians 1:8-9 (KJV)

8 Let God’s curse fall on anyone, including us or even an angel from heaven, who preaches a different kind of Good News than the one we preached to you. 9 I say again what we have said before: If anyone preaches any other Good News than the one you welcomed, let that person be cursed. Galatians 1:8-9 (NLT)

8 Let me be blunt: If one of us—even if an angel from heaven!—were to preach something other than what we preached originally, let him be cursed. 9 I said it once; I’ll say it again: If anyone, regardless of reputation or credentials, preaches something other than what you received originally, let him be cursed. Galatians 1:8-9 (MSG)

This should settle it.

As I make future posts, I want to make something clear, Mormons are not bad people, they are family oriented and would be great to have as your neighbor and in your circle of friends, that being said, Mormonism simply has too many unasnswered questions. Paul said it best, and I hope that this will get some to consider what they believe.

“For I can testify about them that they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge.” Romans 2:10

Next Question: Do you have Maps in your Bible? or Have you been to Jershon?

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Questions to Ask Momons Pt 1: What is the Origin of the Book of Mormon?

  1. A thought for you: look up Joseph Smith History 1:11-13.

    I’m a little curious, who is the target audience of your posts here? Because I am fairly certain that there are plenty of Mormons around for you to ask if you were so inclined, and likely ones which could answer these questions to some degree of satisfaction.

    • Hello,.. I am going to assume that you are a Member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. And yes you are right, there are many Mormons around, in fact I have had numerous conversations, but as to answers,…I have not recieved any that are satisfactory, in fact they are severly lacking.

      You asked about my target, anyone really, those who are considering Mormonism, Mormons themselves, those who are just curious about what Mormonism teaches and how it compares with Christiainty and of course Christians,… who know very little about Mormonism and should know more.

      I am going to be posting on other questions that Mormons cannot answer adequately and what I see as its shortcomings. Mormonism produces lots of Good poeple, however according to the Bible, its not about being good, its about dealing with sin. Mormons do not put much stock in the Bible, Galatians 1:8 Demonstrates that suffeciently. The Gospel was never lost as Mormonism taught and the story of Joseph Smith in the “Grove” clearly violates Gal 1:8.

      Concerning Mormons….
      2 I can assure you that they are deeply devoted to God, but they are misguided.
      Romans 10:2

  2. I’m curious if you read that passage I provided you.

    My thoughts on the topic: if I want to know about Catholicism, or Islam, or Buddhism, or African Tribalism, I would be misguided to go to an outside source for credible information about what the religion is about; a member of Taliban is probably not going to give me a fair, rounded assessment about Judaism. The perspective is useful at times, but religion, spirituality, and worship are so much personal matters that I really do find it inappropriate to try to inform people about a faith I have not been devoted to. Obviously some people find enlightenment and fulfillment in it, even if I do not agree with its tenants or doctrines. I am in no wise compelled to believe what they do, but neither do I feel any need to make my criticisms known to the world.

    Case in point: as a Mormon, I utterly disagree with you that the LDS church does not “put much stock” on the Holy Bible. This has never been my experience. I have grown up reading the Bible along side with other volumes sacred writ and have never been told by ecclesiastical leaders to not trust in the Bible. Quite the opposite, in fact. You refer then, I assume, to the fact that our particular interpretation of the Bible might not be 100% cohesive with yours. To which I say: put a Gnostic, a Coptic, a Korean Orthodox, a Roman Catholic, a Mexican Catholic, a Calvinist, a Quaker, a Seventh’s Day Adventist, a Jehovah’s Witness and a Baptist in the same room and ask who’s interpretation is correct. You are going to get ten different answers. And their doctrines will not coincide.

    And that is only speaking of the mainstream Christian world. Most people on this earth do not believe in Christ. And, frankly, the reason that most people either are or are not Christian is purely a function of the culture in which they were born. Some covert to other religions. Most people do not. And I do not believe in a God who will cast out his “deeply devoted, but misguided” children because of where they were born.

    Not to mention that I have SO many issues with traditional Christianity and Christian doctrine, and most of them intellectual. But quibbling over matters of faith really does no good; what matters is what Paul taught in 1 Cor. 2: that it is the Lord who will instruct us in spiritual matters, by his spirit, and not through the wisdom of men or of the world. And I have no more right to tell you what God has or has not spoken to you than you have to tell me.

    Isaiah 55:8-9. We don’t understand God’s workings, not the reason for a lot of things in this world. But I will not fault anyone who is earnestly trying to seek after Deity and living the best they know how.

    • kealnt on said:

      I dont believe God determines destiny based on your zipcode either, but that is not the point. Sometimes an outside source is the best to go to because they dont have blineders on, they will look critically at a matter. Criticall simply means intently in this instance. In regards to location, God has revealed himself to us, he has provided a way for us to know him and he has provided Salvation for us via Grace,.. not after all we can do,but through unmerited favor. I find it interesting that here you use the Bible, but dont you find it odd that you have to use the Bible to defend the fact that as LDS the Bible and other QUAD material are “Holy”? And you can “case in point” disagree all day, but everytime I talk to a Mormon and they dont like what the Bible says on a Subject, the tell me its flawed and abandon it and go to your other works so I can not agree with you. I have not had any LDS tell me he or she agrees with what the Bible has to say as opposed to what the QUAD and other works state.

      • Do you know what a Quad is? And are you trying to say that the bible is free from flaw? And I still find it awful hypocritical that you seem to think that you have monopoly of biblical interpretation, especially when there is NO common consensus in the Christian world about what our book really means.

      • kealnt on said:

        Actually yes I do. No I don’t I believe in inspiration, not that Bible is 100% perfect, that would be “THE WORD” Jesus Christ. I don’t have any monopoly, but I don’t care about CONSENSUS truth is not up for DEBATE or EMOTIONS like it is in the LDS church that is my point,.. we do not base whether the Bible is true by a feeling or a burning in the Bosom. The Origin of the Bible has a long line of attestations. I would have this same debate with a Christian who says that we can interpret the Bible based on popular opinion.

  3. And if you do not mind me asking, what is the origin of the Bible?

    • kealnt on said:

      Inspired by God written my more than 40 plus authors over many hundreds of years with one common message, that has hisotrical, archeological, geographical, linguistic, and many more evidences that support the validity of the Bible that is the origin. No one denies that it was written by men, you take on faith that they were directed by God, the evidence lies in what they wrote. Joseph Smiths work does not stand up to the same scrutiny.

      • What you have basically said here is “the Bible is true because of X, end of story, and the Book of Mormon does not have X, therefore it is not true.” Which seems awfully strange to me, since the Book of Mormon is the single most disputed and researched religious text besides the Bible, and “historical, archaeological, geographical, linguistic,” as well as other evidences have been and continue to be found for it. You will respond by saying that many have refuted the BoM, but I will remind you that the bible is refuted just as often, and by reputable and worthy scholars.

        I can only name you one prominent scientific mind in the United States who claims to believe in the bible. Some of the best and brightest minds in the world reject it as mysticism and mythology. Even mainstream biblical scholars do not believe it to be inspired, or that any prophecy written in it is genuine (they argue that they were all added in after the fact). Besides, if we are going as far as evidence, I see no reason why the Quoran should not be on your list of holy writ as well.

        I hope you see my point here. Neither the origin of the bible, nor its authenticity, are universally accepted, and claims to such are laughed upon by the majority of the world, especially the erudite world. And yet you and I believe in it still. There must be more to it than that, something more important than historical evidence. If it were not so, you could not convince me a word past the six-day creation that this book is supposed to be true.

      • kealnt on said:

        No that is your interpretation. I never said it was end of story. Does the church offically give any “evidences (that) have been and continue to be found for it”. Are there any outside attestations to this evidence? If there is I would like to see it! Only one scientific mind who believes in the Bible? Are you serious? I wouldnt even say that about the BOM, I wouldnt agree with them but I wouldnt say that they arent there. I do have problems with the Quaran,.. it says that Jesus did not die on the Cross. Best and brightest are you kidding? Who are they? Why do you dismiss hisotrical evidence,.. if the BOM is what it says it is, it should have nothing to worry about right? In regards to the 6 day creation, it is important, but it isnot critical to SALVATION, it is not a core belief in Christianity.

Leave a Reply

